This morning, Governor Brown signed SB 3 into law, making California the first state to have a statewide $15 minimum wage. A few cities in California had already approved a minimum wage hike to $15, including Los Angeles and San Francisco. New York also signed a minimum wage increase to $15 today, but it only applies to various groups and in various regions, rather than statewide.
Minimum wage in California will now increase from it’s current $10 to $10.50 on January 1st of 2017. Then it would raise to $11 in 2018, and continue to raise by $1 annually until 2022.
In order to keep up with payroll compliance, you can view PAYDAY’s 2016 Ultimate Guide to Payroll Tax Holdings Infographic, which is updated every year.