On April 1, 2019, a new posting requirement took effect in the state of California. The Department of Fair Employment and Housing has made updates to the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) and New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) regulations and has therefore released a new poster which applies to employers with more than 20 employees.
Beginning January 1, 2018, California’s New Parent Leave Act (Parental Leave) requires employers with 20 or more employees to allow eligible employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to bond with a newborn, or a child placed with the employee for adoption or foster care.
Previously, only employers with 50 or more employees had to provide eligible employees with baby-bonding leave. That’s because those employers were covered by the federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the California Family Rights Act (CFRA)—laws that give employees the right to take protected time off for certain qualifying reasons, one of which is bonding with a new child.
Under the New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) an employee is eligible to take a family care leave if the employee has worked for the employer for at least 12 months, has worked at least 1,250 hours, and the employer has at least 20 employees at the worksite or within 75 miles of the worksite.
Visit the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing website for additional resources and FAQs.