New States With Paid Sick Leave Laws

Although there currently are no federal requirements for employee paid sick leave, 9 states and Washington D.C. currently require paid sick leave. In 2011, the state of Connecticut was the first to require its employees be paid for sick leave if the company met certain requirements. Washington and Maryland are the most recent states who have hopped on board with their laws taking effect at the beginning of 2018 and Rhode Island’s Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces Act will be taking effect in a few months on July 2018. Below is a comprehensive list of states with paid sick leave laws:

The trend towards paid sick leave seems to be one gaining momentum and employers could continue seeing them adopted. Although only a handful of states have enacted such laws, local city and county ordinances continue being enacted as well. The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) has an interactive map showing which states have Statewide, Statewide and city/county, or city/county only laws. The National Partnership for Women & Families also has a summarized chart of each state law.

As a reminder, if you are a PAYDAY client and have employees within state or local jurisdictions with paid sick leave laws, your dedicated Account Manager is here to assist in implementing your organization’s sick leave policies.


About the Author: