On April 1, 2019, a new posting requirement took effect in
the state of California. The Department of Fair Employment and Housing has made
updates to the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) and New Parent Leave Act
(NPLA) regulations and has therefore released a new poster
which applies to employers with more than 20 employees.
Beginning January 1, 2018, California’s New Parent Leave Act
(Parental Leave) requires employers with 20 or more employees to allow eligible
employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to bond with a
newborn, or a child placed with the employee for adoption or foster care.
Previously, only employers with 50 or more employees had to
provide eligible employees with baby-bonding leave. That’s because those
employers were covered by the federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the
California Family Rights Act (CFRA)—laws that give employees the right to take
protected time off for certain qualifying reasons, one of which is bonding with
a new child.
Under the New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) an employee is
eligible to take a family care leave if the employee has worked for the employer
for at least 12 months, has worked at least 1,250 hours, and the employer has
at least 20 employees at the worksite or within 75 miles of the worksite.
Visit the California Department of Fair Employment and
Housing website for additional resources
PAYDAY Workforce Solutions provides a single database SAAS solution for Human Capital Management (HCM) including payroll, human resources, time management, benefits administration and onboarding to companies of all sizes and in various industries.
625 The City Drive South, Suite 250
Orange, CA 92868